Physics undergrad for international student

• Thread starter zaphod17
  • Start date
Can you guys suggest me some universities/colleges (preferably in the US) that have great physics undergrad programs.
By great I mean places where there is a lot of faculty-student interaction, small class size, rigorous curriculum and some undergrad research opportunities.
In short, places where I’ll be able to learn much more than what I can just learn just by reading the standard books available on the subject.
I don't really care about the rankings of the colleges which are available on the web.

I asked my question here because there are many experienced physicists or people who have pursued physics with great interest at some point in their life here on the forum.

The main hindrance for me is that I’m an international student whose annual family income is about $15-16k. So I will need substantial (almost full) financial aid.

Thanks
Zaphod

P.S. – I am looking forward to a career in physics with HEP as my main interest. I have learned some multivariable, vector calculus and plan to study quantum mechanics in the coming months on my own.

Answers and Replies

ok i think should mention some schools first:

how are schools like amherst, williams, reed, colgate, MIT, caltech, columbia and U chicago with respect to the criteria that i've mentioned.

also please mention if there are schools outside the US which are great (faculty-student interaction, small class size, rigorous curriculum and some undergrad research opportunities) for physics and also give aid to intls.