• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products Here!

Please help me in starting my job search as an EE undergrad graduating soon.

Main Question or Discussion Point

Hi everyone. I'm in my last semester of my BSEE degree. I want to get a decent job when I graduate in May. On paper I have a lot of things going for me, but my head is a total mess right now when I start thinking about it. I'm really scared I won't find anything, or if I do, something I really don't like.

My selling points:
  • 3 internships @ SPX, Electrolux, Medtronic. All were great experiences and I know my former supervisors would speak highly of me.
  • Former president of local IEEE chapter
  • Former vice president of social fraternity
  • Founder & president of racquetball club team
  • Good overall grades, ~3.5 GPA

I do have about ~15 professional contacts that I could contact. I think what scares me the most is the possibility of getting a dead-end job and feeling like all my hard work was in vain. Also, while I am good in interviews, I am not the best at actually contacting people and maintaining those relationships.

Can you guys give me some advice, maybe even help me come up with a plan? This is a huge deal for me, and if anyone here does help me out a lot, I will be sure to reward them when I do get a job. I appreciate all your concern and attention ahead of time.

Answers and Replies

Choppy
Science Advisor
Education Advisor
Insights Author
1. You might want to start by defining as specifically as you can - and for yourself only - what you're looking for. If you could have a dream job land in your lap after you graduate, what would it look like? What activities do you enjoy? What projects have you worked on that gave you a sense of satisfaction or accomplishment? What situations would you like to avoid? 9-5 or 'freestyle' hours? etc.