Please help me in starting my job search as an EE undergrad graduating soon.

In summary, the conversation discusses a student's concerns about finding a job after graduating with a BSEE degree. The student has a strong background with internships and leadership positions, but is worried about getting a job they don't like and maintaining professional relationships. The conversation suggests defining what they are looking for in a job, not worrying about getting stuck in a bad job, taking opportunities to learn and experiment, and actively reaching out to professional contacts for advice and potential job leads. The advice also emphasizes starting the job search early and being open to different opportunities.
KingNothing
Hi everyone. I'm in my last semester of my BSEE degree. I want to get a decent job when I graduate in May. On paper I have a lot of things going for me, but my head is a total mess right now when I start thinking about it. I'm really scared I won't find anything, or if I do, something I really don't like.

My selling points:
  • 3 internships @ SPX, Electrolux, Medtronic. All were great experiences and I know my former supervisors would speak highly of me.
  • Former president of local IEEE chapter
  • Former vice president of social fraternity
  • Founder & president of racquetball club team
  • Good overall grades, ~3.5 GPA

I do have about ~15 professional contacts that I could contact. I think what scares me the most is the possibility of getting a dead-end job and feeling like all my hard work was in vain. Also, while I am good in interviews, I am not the best at actually contacting people and maintaining those relationships.

Can you guys give me some advice, maybe even help me come up with a plan? This is a huge deal for me, and if anyone here does help me out a lot, I will be sure to reward them when I do get a job. I appreciate all your concern and attention ahead of time.

Physics news on Phys.org