(possible) Alternative solution to a difference equation

In summary, the conversation discusses a difference equation and its solution, which alternates between a(0) for even values of n and 1 - a(0) for odd values of n. The solution also holds true for all values of n and is written as a(n) = a(0)*-1^n + (-1^n - 1)*(-1/2). It is important to use parentheses correctly in mathematical equations. Additionally, initial values are necessary to fully solve a difference equation, just like
Nerd-ho
Member advised that the homework template is required.
Hi, I'm a high school graduate who's been going through some UNISA (University of South Africa) mathematical modelling material and I've come across the following difference equation -

a(n+1) = 1 - a(n).

The answer given in the material was that the solution alternates between a(0) for n even and 1 - a(0) for n odd.

I think I've come up with a solution that holds true for all n, namely:

a(n) = a(0)*-1^n + (-1^n - 1)*(-1/2)

Am I correct?

Regards, Travis

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Nerd-ho said:
Hi, I'm a high school graduate who's been going through some UNISA (University of South Africa) mathematical modelling material and I've come across the following difference equation -

a(n+1) = 1 - a(n).

The answer given in the material was that the solution alternates between a(0) for n even and 1 - a(0) for n odd.

I think I've come up with a solution that holds true for all n, namely:

Am I correct?

Regards, Travis

Sure, that's correct. It's exactly the same solution written in a different way.

Last edited by a moderator:
Likes Chestermiller
Nerd-ho said:

a(n+1) = 1 - a(n).

I think I've come up with a solution that holds true for all n, namely
:

Am I correct?

Regards, Travis

It is vital for you to learn to use parentheses. What you wrote is
$$a(n) = a(0) \times -1^n + (-1^n -1 ) \times (-1/2),$$
which evaluates to ##a(n) = -a(0) + (-2) \times (-1/2) = -a(0) + 1## always. You probably want