Programming, Finance what else can a Physicist do?

In summary, the conversation discusses various job opportunities and roles for individuals with a physics degree, particularly those with an interest in analytical work. These include underwriting for insurance companies, business consulting, data science, and becoming an actuary. The conversation also delves into the specific tasks and responsibilities of a data scientist, which involve creating models and predictions using various languages and statistical techniques. The individual asking questions is considering transitioning from academic computational physics to an industry job, and is interested in learning more about statistics and its applications in these roles.
Crimson_Aether
I'm currently a database programmer, which is ok but repetative.
What it lacks (in my experience at least) is the spirit that my degree had. I miss thinking analytically, doing integrals, using my brain to make things from scratch rather than memorising the motions of something already invented.

Does anyone have experience with/knowledge of any sort of work outside of doing a PhD which is like this that a physics graduate can do?

*Inclusion of additional requirements is fine, for instance "you'd need a masters in X" or other qualification, etc, the intent of the question is to establish general sectors of employment that might fit the above criteria or deliver a similar experience rather than a specific job or company, though these are welcome too.

Physics news on Phys.org
Insurance companies need mathematicians for the job of underwriting. I don't know whether this is repetitive or interesting . Humana. Louisville, has a department for this.

Likes Crimson_Aether