Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Propagation velocity of transverse wave on a bar

1. Aug 28, 2010 #1
    I need to know the propagation velocity of a transverse wave on a long thin bar or rod. In terms of material properties, such as E and density, and in terms of geometry such as I (2nd moment of area).

I'm a physics grad, so reasonably versed in such things. But can neither find nor derive an expression. So help appreciated.

Either an expression for propagation velocity, or some help in finding an expression for compliance per unit length, from which I can probably derive it.

Thx.

LD

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 28, 2010 #2
    The elastic equation for a shear (transverse) wave in a solid medium is

[tex]\frac{1}{{{\beta ^2}}}\frac{{{\partial ^2}{\theta _x}}}{{\partial {t^2}}} = {\nabla ^2}{\theta _x}[/tex]

where

[tex]\beta = \frac{\mu }{\rho }[/tex]

and

[tex]{\theta _x}[/tex] is the one dimensional displacement

[tex]\mu [/tex] is the shear modulus = modulus of rigidity

[tex]\rho [/tex] is the density

t is, of course, time

This is independent of the shape of the object.

Hope this helps

4. Aug 28, 2010 #3
    Thanks studiot. Appreciated.

However, the application of that isotropic equation doesn't seem to fit well. In the case of a long thin rod, from published solutions for beam modal self resonance, transverse wave velocity appears to be dependant upon profile shape, ie second moment of area I. For example, two beams of equivalent mass/length but differing in I (say one is hollow but with larger radius), have different transverse modal self resonant fs for the same length. Therefore differ in propagation velocity. Presumably the compliance/length differs with I, and therefore profile ?

I was hoping for a solution that readily embraces differing area profiles. Presumably the isotropic equation can be adapted or applied, but I can't see how.