Propellers in a Tunnel: Benefits & Noise Suppression

• Thread starter BADxKARMA
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Propellers
In summary, the conversation covers various topics related to fluid dynamics, mechanical and aeronautical engineering, and aerospace engineering. The main questions revolve around the benefit of linking propellers in tandem and the possibility of reducing prop noise. The conversation also touches on the efficiency of propellers and the potential for electric planes to cruise at high speeds while being quiet. The conversation concludes that it is possible to achieve this, but it may not be efficient or practical with current technology.
BADxKARMA
First off, please allow me to preface this by stating I am a HS graduate with a miniscule physics background, so if this is a stupid question, I humbly apologize. That being said...

I have 2 questions, both of which are probably inane.

#1. What would be the beneficial effect, if any, of linking several propellers in tandem, all mounted on a single shaft running the length of the tube? Would it provide more thrust? Would it even provide any thrust?

#2. Would this arrangement provide any help with suppressing the prop noise? Is there such thing as a silent propeller?

I'm working on a short story/novella, and I would like to be as accurate as possible. Thank you for humoring me.

Physics news on Phys.org
Astrophysics is the application of physics to astronomy (which is the measurement of the heavens). Your question is about fluid dynamics or mechanical/aeronautical engineering.

If you're talking about aerospace engineering, what you describe seems somewhat similar to a jet engine, and having been around them, I am very skeptical that they can be anything but extremely loud.

If you are talking about moving through some other fluid, such as water, the Navy has some pretty silent propulsion techniques and I do not know enough about it to comment.