Prove if a=b(mod n) then a^2=b^2(mod n)

• Thread starter privyet
  • Start date
In summary, if a and b are integers and a\equivb(mod n), then a2\equivb2(mod n). If n divides a-b, then n also divides a2-b2.
privyet

Homework Statement

This is a question from the book I'm studying called 'Mathematical Proofs: A transition to advanced mathematics'

Homework Equations

Let a, b, n be integers, with n≥2. Prove that if a[itex]\equiv[/itex]b(mod n), then a2[itex]\equiv[/itex]b2(mod n).

The Attempt at a Solution

Following the examples I assumed that I'd start by stating that since a[itex]\equiv[/itex]b(mod n), then a-b=nx... but from this point I'm stuck.

Any help much appreciated.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
privyet said:

Homework Statement

This is a question from the book I'm studying called 'Mathematical Proofs: A transition to advanced mathematics'

Homework Equations

Let a, b, n be integers, with n≥2. Prove that if a[itex]\equiv[/itex]b(mod n), then a2[itex]\equiv[/itex]b2(mod n).

The Attempt at a Solution

Following the examples I assumed that I'd start by stating that since a[itex]\equiv[/itex]b(mod n), then a-b=nx...

In other words, n divides a-b. Does n divide a2-b2?

Yeah. I know its simple but I just don't know how to think about it.

privyet said:

Are you saying you still don't know how to think about it after my hint? Can you answer my question in the hint?

privyet said:
LCKurtz has probably provided the most direct way to think about it if you happen to know the well known factorization of the expression a2-b2, but alternatively you could think of it this way:

You have already stated that a-b=nx, or a=nx+b, for some integer x.

Can you find an integer, say y, such that a2=ny+b2 ?

I was saying that I could see that it looks pretty obvious that if n divides a-b, it will divide a2-b2, but that I didn't know how to prove it.