Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Proving Kähler, finding the Kähler form

1. Nov 4, 2013 #1
    Hi!

I have a question about Kähler manifolds. Of course there are many books (I prefer Nakahara) and lecture notes on this topic, but as a physicist I need a very hands-on way of dealing with metrics, etc.

Given a metric, what is the simplest way to find the Kähler form and to prove the Kähler property? I mean, e.g. Nakahara describes Kähler, but is there something simpler one can do (perhaps just in some cases)?

An example I have encountered is
    \begin{equation}
    ds^2 = (r-u) \left(\frac{\text d r^2}{F(r)} -\frac{\text d u^2}{G(u)} \right) + \frac{1}{r-u} \left(F(r) (\text d t +u \text d z)^2 - G(u) (\text d t+ r \text d z)^2 \right) ~,
    \end{equation}
    where $F$ and $G$ may be any functions of one variable. This metric is claimed to be Kähler with Kähler form
    \begin{equation}
    \Omega = \text d (r+ u) \wedge \text d t + \text d (r u) \wedge \text d z ~,
    \end{equation}
    which is obviously closed.

Following Nakahara, one needs to change coordinates to make the metric Hermitian, but can the Kähler form be read off more directly?

Cheers!

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 4, 2013 #2

fzero

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Given a Riemannian metric ##g(X,Y)## and an almost complex structure ##J##, the Kahler form is defined as ##\Omega(X,Y) = g(JX,Y)## (eq (8.55) in Nakahara). The Kahler form will be closed if the almost complex structure is covariantly constant in the Riemannian metric. I'm not sure what complex structure is being used in the example you gave, but it's probably straightforward, if tedious, to work it out.

4. Nov 4, 2013 #3

Ben Niehoff

Science Advisor
    Gold Member