1. PF Contest - Win "Conquering the Physics GRE" book! Click Here to Enter
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Math Pure Math Bachelors Career Options

1. Feb 24, 2010 #1

What careers outside of academia can one hope to find with a bachelor's degree (Honours with GPA>3.5) or even a graduate degree in pure math? Let's assume I've taken Cal 1-2-3, Linear Algebra, Diff. Eqns, Metric spaces and topology, complex analysis, real analysis, discrete mathematics, number theory (perhaps some cryptography aswell), some independant research (as part of honours project), and also some physics classes (Mechanics, E&M, wave motion...) I am trying to stay away from applied math (Mostly the finance/business applied math)

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 24, 2010 #2
    I'm just a college sophomore (who's doing math / physics), but my understanding is unless you do math that makes someone money, you won't have a job outside academia. If you want to stay away from finance/business, I know that the video game industry needs lots of science people, except you will need a working understanding of programming. Cryptography? I'm not too sure, but math usually used as a tool - so if you're not using it to do something, then it doesn't have any value.

Again, just a college sophomore! :-) there are many other better qualified people to answer your question here - hopefully they will respond.
  4. Feb 24, 2010 #3
    depends on your programming skills, you can be an IT guy or programmer.
    And its a shame that you don't want to go into finance.
    lots of people with pure math degrees go into finance (finance is not just selling or buying stocks. there lots of different jobs in the financial industry).
  5. Feb 25, 2010 #4