Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A Quantum Gravity -- intro papers for 2nd year MSc student?

1. Oct 6, 2018 #1
    Basically, I'm a Physics/Math MSc student. Currently strengthening my background in Diff. Geo., QFT, GR. I feel like I should start reading some research papers on Quantum Gravity but I do not know where to start.

What papers should I start with? I need papers that are accessible to 2nd year postgrads, but that also give a glimpse of the frontier. Maybe this is asking too much though. But at the very least I search for research papers that give an good introduction to Quantum Gravity topics, either to just one approach or an overview of all.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 7, 2018 #2

David Horgan

Gold Member

Hi YellowBiro,

May I make suggest a few things to get you started on learning about quantum gravity. I've personally read and found a number of books very useful so I'll list them below, as you'll notice I have a decided preference for the Cambridge Monographs on Mathematical Physics and the IoP Graduate Student Series:

• A First Course in String Theory by Barton Zwiebach
    • A First Course in Loop Quantum Gravity by Rodolfo Gambini and Jorge Pullin
    • Approaches to Quantum Gravity: Toward a New Understanding of Space, Time and Matter by Daniele Oriti
    • Quantum Gravity (Cambridge Monographs on Mathematical Physics) by Carlo Rovelli
    • Covariant Loop Quantum Gravity: An Elementary Introduction to Quantum Gravity and Spinfoam Theory (Cambridge Monographs on Mathematical Physics) by Carlo Rovelli and Francesca Vidotto
    • Modern Canonical Quantum General Relativity (Cambridge Monographs on Mathematical Physics) by Thomas Thiemann
    • Particle Physics of Brane Worlds and Extra Dimensions (Cambridge Monographs on Mathematical Physics) by Sreerup Raychaudhuri and K. Sridhar