Quantum mechanics exam (want to solve by myself)

In summary: I guess it is not the best way. It is fun to start solving problems right away, but you should not rely on this. After reading the material, you should be able to solve the corresponding problems on your own.
Matiasss
Hi

i am studying for an exam (after failing the first one) on Quantum mechanics that is in one month from now. I use the lecture notes from the teacher. It includes the following topics and 25 exercises per chapter:

Formalism of classical physics
state vectors and operators
position and momentum observables
quantum dynamics
harmonic osc
angular momentum
central potential
density operator
time independent perturbation theory

My problem is that i try to solve the problems and almost always without success. It tooks to me a lot of time also to understand the solution. It feels de-motivating to me because i want to solve and review all the problems in the lecture notes but in the other hand it takes me a lot of time to solve them. Also the feeling that i am not solving the exercises by myself is bad.
Sometimes the maths blocks me but is not the biggest issue. I must say this course is very mathematical.

I am doing an Msc in Electrical Engineering (semiconductor devices) and my Bsc is also in EE but without modern physics background.
I am researching experimentally semiconductor detectors and i must complete the theory background (Yes, i know is strange to start experiments w/o theory).

any suggestions how to push forward ? may i just read and understand the solutions and continue with next excersies? my problem is that i stuck my self in the first or second problem in the chapter and start thinking that physics is not for me :(thanks

Physics news on Phys.org