1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Question about line integral of F dot dr

1. Dec 15, 2013 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Evaluate the line integral of F dot dr where f(x,y)=<3x^2,2x+y> and C is a straight line segment from (1,2) to (5,4)

2. Relevant equations
    Unfortunately I was out with family obligations when we covered line integrals and surface integrals so am stuck with the textbook for these so I will just jump to my 'attempt at a solution' since I have limited knowledge on these subjects.

3. The attempt at a solution

First I figured the equation of our line to be y=1/2x-1/2
    so if x=t then,
    y=1/2t-1/2
    so r(t)= ti+(1/2t+3/2)j
    and r'(t)= i+1/2j

∫<3t^2i+(5/2t+3/2j>dot<i+1/2j>dt
    ∫(3t^2+5/4t+6/2)dt

Then we evaluate the integral from 1 to 5. How bad is it?
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 15, 2013 #2

LCKurtz

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

That should work; I didn't check your numbers. A nicer, and more standard, parameterizaton of the line would be ##\vec r(t) = \langle 1,2\rangle + t\langle 4,2\rangle## for ##0\le t\le 1##. I think you will find it simpler. Try it.

4. Dec 15, 2013 #3
    Ah hah, a surprising result!

If I have an integral of F dot T ds with F(x,y)=<4x,y^2> and C is the arc of a circle of radius 2 centered at the origin then do we just take,
    x=2cos t
    y=2sin t
    so we have the integral of <8cos t,4sin^2 t>dot<-2sin t,2cos t> with the bounds of 0 to pi/2?

5. Dec 15, 2013 #4
    I thought I could figure this out, but...
    How did you get that parameterization?

6. Dec 15, 2013 #5

LCKurtz

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper