1. PF Contest - Win "Conquering the Physics GRE" book! Click Here to Enter
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Question for the use of Woolaston Prism in OPTICAL TWEEZER

1. Aug 19, 2010 #1
    I studied optical tweezer,
    So I saw the optical path in the diagram.

Then I can't understand why they use the Wollaston Prism?

After launch the laser, the beam through the half-wave plate
    So the beam polarized, I know this.

and after through the half-wave plate, the beam through the Wollaston Prism.

But this time, I can't understand why they use it.

Does they have a special purpose for using the Wollaston Prism?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 19, 2010 #2
    The half wave plate does not polarize the light into a single direction. This is why the prisim is needed, in order to polarize the light before it enters a spacial light modulator. It can also be used to reduce the power of the laser so you don't burn out anything in the path. But from my understanding it's mainly used to polarize the light either horizontally or vertically.
  4. Aug 20, 2010 #3
    In many optics book, they explain a half wave plate to the things that make laser beam
    linear polarization.
    is it different your explain and book?

I read the webpage that explain the Wollaston Prism.

anyway, I'm thank you for your answer,

but, I can't understand this sentence..
    "The half wave plate does not polarize the light into a single direction."

I'm use the Nd:Yag laser, So light already linearly polarized.
    So I think that sentence doesn't make sense for me anymore, right?
  5. Aug 20, 2010 #4

Science Advisor

If you already have a linearly polarized laser beam, you can rotate the linear polarization using a half wave plate, but you cannot create linearly polarized light from arbitrarily polarized light using a half wave plate.