1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Questions involving simple groups

1. Jun 22, 2008 #1
    Hi, it's my first time posting in this forum, so I'm sorry if I have done anything against the forum rules and please point it out to me. Currently revising group theory for an exam in a week's time, and these two practise questions I couldn't finish, so if anyone can push me towards the right direction it'll be great.

The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

1. Prove that a simple abelian group G is cyclic of prime order.

2. Let G be a simple group and have a subgroup of index k > 2. Prove that |G| divides k!/2.

The attempt at a solution

Question 1
    Suppose G is simple abelian, and consider an element x in G where x is not the identity element. Then since G is abelian, the cyclic group generated by x, <x> is normal in G, and this implies that G = <x>, so G is cyclic.

But now I'm not sure how to prove the fact that G is finite and has prime order...

Question 2
    Suppose H is a subgroup of G, then by LaGrange |G| = |H||G:H| = |H|k. Also since k > 2, clearly k!/2 = k*(k-1)*(k-2)*...*3. So |G| divides k!/2 for any k > 2.

But I didn't even use the fact that G is simple, and this argument seems far too simple and I don't feel confident with the solution...

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 22, 2008 #2

CompuChip

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

For the first: Suppose it does not have prime order, then there is some d which divides |G|. Try to make a normal subgroup out of that (e.g. look at [itex]x^{|G|/d}[/itex]). If G is not finite, then x has infinite order and G is not cyclic. For example, G = (Z, +) with x = 1 is such a group. Why doesn't the theorem work there?