Reexamining Time Dilation: A Perspective from Both Frames of Reference

• Thread starter armaan
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Important
In summary, the person on the airplane would feel time passing more slowly than the person on the ground.
armaan
Hey guys,

I have no background in physics but have been interested in time dilation for a while and have understood the concept without getting technical...

My question is this... this is the atomic clock experiment...

Suppose there are only 2 living beings in the universe ... one stands still on Earth with an atomic clock in his hand... the other goes in an aeroplane at a high uniform speed also with an atomic clock in his hand..

After 60 minutes(on the person standing on Earth's clock) the plane returns and they compare their clocks..

only 59.99999 or wtvr minutes have passed on the person in the planes clock right?

Now here comes my question... Why do we look at this from the person standing on Earth's frame of reference... according to the person on the plane, the person standing on Earth was moving away from HIM at a high uniform speed... so why is the person standing on Earth's clock not slower when they compare... this is my basic confusion...

thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
The airplane must turn around in order to return to its starting point so the two persons can compare their clocks. The person on the airplane "feels" the turnaround. The person on the ground does not.

To put it another way, the person on the ground remains at rest in a single inertial reference frame. The person on the airplane does not. His reference frame is non-inertial during the turnaround.

Hey jtbell,

Thanks for your reply. I appreciate your perspective on the solution and it certainly is a very good argument but i don't somehow feel satisfied.