1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Refrence math handbook

1. Mar 6, 2009 #1
    What is the best reference handbook in math?

I am an undergraduate math student.
    I need a handbook in case something skips my mind like a function or formulas .... In the huge field of math that happens a lot.

I need a handbook because I find it hard to carry my library around. and math courses are so connected to every where.

Last edited: Mar 6, 2009
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 6, 2009 #2

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

4. Mar 6, 2009 #3
    Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  5. Jan 17, 2012 #4
    Hello all,

I am a graduate Physics student. I have strong math background. However, I started to forget some formulas, equations and so on because I am more focused on experimental physics.

I am looking for a book in math that I can you as a handbook. What do you think about Mathematical Methods for Physicists by Arfken and Weber. I heard that Bronstein's Handbook is good too.

Also, I don't what to pay a lot for a book that I will be using occasionally.

Thank you, Valentyn

6. Jun 15, 2012 #5
    I'd like to put in a plug for Alan Jeffrey's handbook: ISBN: 0123742889

In the past I've used both 1) the CRC (30th edition) and 2) Korn and Korn.... neither of which are perfect. I found the CRC didn't have everything I needed, while Korn and Korn is somewhat dated and poorly organized, (though it contains everything). As a result, I have been using the CRC primarily for tests, preparation, etc. However.....