Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Research Poll: Public Support for a Nuclear Powered Aeroplane

1. Sep 14, 2008 #1
    Hi,

My name is Dawson S and I'm a student from Australia. I'm currently completing a research project into the modern-day feasibility of a nuclear-powered aeroplane (as first suggested in the Cold War). I am to deliver this project in December at the Stockholm International Youth Science Seminars where I will attend the Nobel Prize ceremonies.

I am interested in poll results from different community groups and as such I have approached this forum. Please vote above and comment below should you have any strong opinions. I only require opinions; I already have all of the scientific data I require for my project (this is one of the last sections I am to complete).

Voting is to be done with any information you can muster, not information I provide.

Thank-you for your help

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 14, 2008 #2
    If the proper safety procedures were in place and evidence suggested it was safe I'd be fine with it.

4. Sep 14, 2008 #3

Astronuc

Staff: Mentor

It's not feasible. The shielding alone makes it uneconomical.

5. Sep 14, 2008 #4
    No problem with nuclear. But how would you get such a thing into the wild blue younder?

6. Sep 14, 2008 #5

Evo

I think you have a problem here with people saying it won't work, but if it were feasable they would fly on it.

Your poll is only asking if one existed would one fly on it. But your post says you are researching the feasability of it. Maybe I am misreading it, but I feel you are asking me to vote on something like "if you could fly on the Starship Enterprise, would you?" although it may never be feasable.

7. Sep 14, 2008 #6

Astronuc

I'm responding more to the endorse.