Rotational Forces on a Hollow Cylinder

In summary, the conversation discussed modeling a hollow cylinder with known dimensions and density, fixed on a horizontal axle and subjected to a tangential force. The equations used to model the speed of rotation were mentioned, with a focus on the equation for moment of inertia and its use in finding angular acceleration. The linear equation for torque was also mentioned as being similar to the equation for angular acceleration.
Ben Reynolds

Homework Statement

I am trying to model a hollow cylinder of known radius r, length l and density rho.
The cylinder is fixed on a horizontal axle along its longest axis (l) and will have a force F applied tangentially to its surface and perpendicular to its axis, with negligible frictional forces acting between it and the axle.
What equations could I use to model the speed of its rotation?

Homework Equations

Mass = pi*r2*l*rho
Some equation involving moments, potentially?
I am a mathematician and have little work on angular velocity, so I apologise for the trouble.

The Attempt at a Solution

I have attempted to find a relevant equation but all searches gave either inapplicable scenarios or equations quoted ad verbatim with no clarification to notation.

Physics news on Phys.org
Do you know about moment of inertia... how it is defined, the formula for the MoI of a cylinder, its use in angular acceleration...?

Okay, so I have found the equation I = MR^2 for a cylindrical shell of negligible width being rotated along its long axis, which is close to what I'm looking for. However, I would not know how to include such an equation in finding angular acceleration.

Ben Reynolds said:
Okay, so I have found the equation I = MR^2 for a cylindrical shell of negligible width being rotated along its long axis, which is close to what I'm looking for. However, I would not know how to include such an equation in finding angular acceleration.