1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Seeking Advice: Starting to Study Quantum Mechanics (and Statistical Mechanics)

1. Nov 13, 2014 #1
    Dear Physics Forum personnel,

I am a undergraduate sophomore with double majors in microbiology and chemistry. I have been involving in two research laboratories: theoretical physical chemistry (focused on inorganic chemistry & solid-state physics) and pathogenic bacteriology. I actually just started to work in that theoretical chemistry group, which involves a lot of quantum/statistical mechanics and computational/programing methods. I decided to self-study the quantum mechanics first and later dive into statistical mechanics since I think statistical mechanics requires a basic knowledge in QM (please correct me if I am wrong; can I study both of them simultaneously?); I have been searching for the introductory textbooks on QM, such as Griffiths, Susskind, Feynman (Lecture Volume 3), Shankar, Sakurai, Ballentine, Zettili, Townsend, etc. I want to pick two QM introductory textbooks and self-study them. Could you recommend two QM textbooks that complement each other well (i.e. one is very-detailed and another one has a good explanation, etc.)? The price of textbooks is not a problem for me since I have a textbook scholarship. Both my mentor and professor told me that any QM book of my choice will be fine since most of the research in that theoretical physical chemistry group are computational and programming.