1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Linear Algebra Seeking Recommendation on Linear Algebra Textbooks

1. May 29, 2015 #1
    Dear Physics Forum personnel,

I am a college sophomore in U.S. with a major in mathematics and an aspiring algebraic number theorist. I wrote this email to seek a recommendation on one or two outstanding linear algebra textbook that can supplement the Linear Algebra (Friedberg et al.), which is a required textbook for my theoretical linear algebra course for Fall 2015. I always enjoy studying from multiple textbooks so it would be nice for me to purchase one or two more LA books to supplement my main textbook. Ones that I currently have in mind are Hoffman/Kunze, Axler, Serge Lang, Anton, etc. but I am clueless of their contents. Could you recommend one or two LA textbooks that I can use in accordance with Friedberg?

Sincerely,

PK

2. jcsd
  3. May 29, 2015 #2

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

While you're waiting for responses, you might try using the forum search feature (top right of the page) to search for the word "linear", ticking the boxes "Search titles only" and "Search this forum only". I've moved this thread to the textbooks forum, so most of the search results will be about linear algebra textbooks. Good luck!

4. May 30, 2015 #3
    I would recommend Sergei Treil's "Linear Algebra Done Wrong" which you can find in full here free of charge in pdf format. It is quite rigorous and thorough, and according to some knowledgeable members of this forum contains everything you need to know about the topic. I am self-studying from it myself and can personally vouch for its quality.

5. May 30, 2015 #4