Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Self taught calculus?

1. Sep 3, 2004 #1
    hola. this year in high school i was enrolled in AP calculus. the year before we had an awesome teacher who was incredibly smart. this year, however, he left and we got a new teacher. it is her first year teaching this. consequently, shes not teaching well and id say 75% of the class dropped it (nearly all the rest are contemplating doing the same), including me. so, ive decided, at least considered, to go to the library and get a calculus book and have a little independent study. are there any particularly good books for this? at the library they had one called quick (fast?) calculus that i was looking at. so, im just wondering if there are any books that would help me accomplish this. mmk. thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 3, 2004 #2
    Just stay far away from "The complete idiot's guide to calculus" (by Michael Kelley).

4. Sep 3, 2004 #3

BobG

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

I've never read Michael Kelley's "The Complete Idiot's Guide to Calculus", but his "Master the AP Caluculus AB and BC Tests" is very good.

5. Sep 3, 2004 #4
    'Calculus Made Easy' by Silvanus P. Thompson. It's been around for ages, and it's always recommended, but with good reason. Richard Feynmann learnt from, I learnt from it, you should do the same. (If you want :wink: )

6. Sep 3, 2004 #5
    I thought Feynman first learned calculus from "Calculus For The Practical Man" ? Thats what he said in the video interview "The Pleasure of Finding Things Out".

Where did you hear he learned it from "Calculus Made Easy"? I don't doubt you and it would be neat to know he used that book still available ;)

Last edited: Sep 4, 2004
  7. Sep 4, 2004 #6
    A word of caution

saying you are going to teach ur self calculus is much easyier said than done
    i said i was going to do it this summer