1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Sequences/Series Problem Based on Medication

1. Sep 22, 2012 #1
    Hi, I am a sophomore in college and, well I have to do this problem that makes no sense to me... I really don't know where to start. Would you help, and maybe explain how to develop these equations as well?

It says...

"For 5 mg some medication, the instructions on the bottle are: Take 8 tablets on Day 1, 7 on Day 2, and decrease by one tablet each day until all tablets are gone. This medication decays exponentially in the body, and 24 hours after taking k mg, there are kx mg in the body.

a) Write formulas involving x for the amount of medication in the body.
    - 24 hours after taking the first dose (8 tablets), right before taking the second dose (7 tablets).
    - Immediately after taking the second dose. (7 tablets).
    - Immediately after taking the eighth dose (1 tablet)
    - n days after taking the eighth dose.

b) Find a closed form for the sum T = 8x^7 + 7x^6 + 6x^5 + ... + 2x + 1, which is the number of medication tablets in the body right after taking the eighth dose.

c) If a patient takes all the medication as prescribed, how many days after taking the eighth dose is there less than 3% of a medication tablet in the patient's body? The half-life of the medication is about 24 hours.

d) A patient is prescribed n tablets of medication the first day, n-1 the second, and one tablet fewer each day until all tablets are gone. Write a formula that represent T(sub)n, the number of medication tablets in the body right after taking all tablets. Find a closed form for T(sub)n."

I have tried for hours and am so frustrated.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 22, 2012 #2

SammyS

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member