Should I avoid a pure math route?

In summary, Fishfriend recommends studying math that is applicable to the job market. He also recommends getting a degree in something other than pure math if it is your first choice.
fishfriend
So I'm still doing some soul searching with finding a major. Currently I enjoy physics and math. However, while I'm good at the mathematical side of physics, conceptually I'm pretty frustratingly slow at it. Often I make the mistake of jumping right into the math without considering the actual physics of a problem. I am new at physics though, versus math where I'm not new at.

With background out of the way, here's the question. I've heard that doing a pure math degree is a bad idea - that those who major in pure math experience difficulty in finding a job and, when they do, don't make much money. Is that true? Should I avoid a pure math route?

Physics news on Phys.org
fishfriend, interesting that you are worried about finding a job when you graduate. Recognizing that job skills would be beneficial, you can start looking for ways to make some beneficial course choices. Certainly some members will jump in here and give you suggestions. ... wait a few minutes or hours and read what they say.

As always, programming, knowledge of Stats would be helpful.

Likes FactChecker, DEvens and Locrian
Mathematics has a multitude of applications which are all in demand including scientific computing, computer science, cryptography, economics, data analysis, actuarial science, business, operations research, modeling in various disciplines including biology and psychology, and of course the physical sciences and engineering. This type of math is now being called applicable math as opposed to applied math.

The point is to choose the area that you have and interest in and are reasonably skilled in and study those areas of math that are best suited to that application. You should know the subject that to which you are applying your math skills.