Should I Switch from Chemical Engineering to Mathematics?

In summary, the individual is studying a chemical engineering degree but is not satisfied with the engineering approach to mathematics. They are considering switching to studying math, but others advise against it. The individual also expresses dislike for certain chemistry courses and questions the usefulness of certain topics. Others suggest that as an engineer, it is important to have both a curious and practical side and that a more rigorous study of mathematics would benefit them. Ultimately, the individual must make their own decision.
Deathcrush
I'm studying the second year of a chemical engineering degree. I have always loved mathematics, and I am pretty good at them, and since the beginning I am not satisfied with the engineering approach to mathematics, I would like to learn some more complicated math, but I'm not quite sure if I should switch because I think a would find a better job as a ChemE. I do like the chemical engineering part, (and I love physics also), it's just that I would like to know more math, also, I have found that I totally HATE some of the chemistry courses i have taken (I hate organic chemistry) since I only like the really useful part of chemistry, and I'm commonly forced to learn lots of reaction mechanisms that are not even used, and are only based in experimental data. What do you guys think?

Physics news on Phys.org
Deathcrush said: