Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Solar Powered Light for Shop Display

1. Aug 6, 2014 #1
    Hi All,

Please forgive me as its a few years since I did my A-Level Physics. However I am now a retail designer and just trying to figuring out how to light a shop window using Solar Power.

I'm pretty sure its not possible but I am determined to do the maths to prove that its not. I need to light a shop window, however it is in a mall. The window will be lit from large lights above, however I was wondering whether these large lights would be able to power smaller spots using solar panels. The idea being that if we used solar panels we could put certain spotlights in locations that are unreachable by wires. I understand that this is highly inefficient, but as the light is shining from above already the question was posed in the office as to whether it could be done?

So I have the spot lights I would like to use and an example of a solar panel. I can't find an equation to calculate the power of light that would be needed above to power the smaller spotlights. Some of the initial calcs (Rusty physics knowledge from my school days) are laid out below.

LED Spot light
    4w @12vdc

4/12= 0.34amps
    0.34amps x 8hours = 2.67amp-hours

Solar Panel

Output voltage: 18V
    Output current: 277mA
    Output power: 5W

5Wx8hrs = 40Wh s
    40whs/12 = 3.3amp-hours

Thank you in advance for your help.

Kind Regards,

Luke

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 6, 2014 #2

davenn

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

hi there

I think you will find that your main problem will be that the stated output of your panel is what it will achieve
    (at maximum) under full sunlight.
    Its going to be significantly less than that when illuminated by a small spotlight

It would be worth experimenting with a panel just to see what you may get.