1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Staying at the same school for Undergrad, Masters and PhD in Math?

1. Mar 19, 2014 #1
    Hi everyone,

So right now I'm an undergrad who is considering getting my Masters and PhD in math. However, I had one question. If someone wants to work in Academia, is it "bad" to get all three degrees from the same place? Where I'm currently studying, some of the professors in the math department (received all three degrees from the same college), but they have been here for 30 years.

The reason I'm asking is this; I've gotten to know some of the professors in the Math department, and their research really interests me. We've had conversations about their research, going through their publications, etc. I have also gotten to know the PhD/Masters coordinator on a personal level, and by the time I graduate, he will have known me for four years (I was in a couple of classes of his and we kept in touch after), and I will have hopefully worked on a research project with him by the time I graduate (he is also the adviser of an REU program).

I have also gotten to know another professor since he is the adviser of a club I've been the President of, so I will have worked with him for four years as well.

I honestly really want to stay here for many reasons, like the ones I listed above, so is that acceptable?

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 19, 2014 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor