Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

String Field Theory and Background Independence?

1. Nov 5, 2008 #1
    Hi all,

I've recently been reading about string field theory (note: I'm a novice). As I understand, the string field is an infinite collection of classical fields. But I'm uncertain as to why this formulation leads to background independence?

Thanks all.
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 5, 2008 #2

Science Advisor

The word "background independance" doesn't really mean what you might think it does. In general, be careful about how people define it and in what context you are in, b/c there is a lot of fog (particularly on the internet) about what people really mean. In general proffessionals rarely use the terminology unless they're pitching an advertisement, mostly b/c its ambiguous.

Now, SFT is background independant in the same sense that Maxwells equations are. Everything is dynamical, there is no fixed structure that cannot be varied, everything can be written in terms of forms, potentials and field strengths.

In another sense, SFT is no more or no less background independant or dependant than regular string theory, b/c it essentially just reproduces perturbation series and *might* miss some (but not all) of the nonperturbative 'backgrounds' that also must exist in a full theory.

Be aware there are several versions of string field theory, like covariant SFT or another that is confusingly called 'background independant open SFT'. Its best to think about what exactly the objects are that they are quantizing (second quantization, third quantization etc) eg string fields, spaces of 2dim conformal field theories, etc. Its also an advanced subject that I don't recommend to novices until you have a lot of ... wait for it.. background material.
  4. Nov 6, 2008 #3

Science Advisor