1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Courses Switching Fields: Should I finish the major or just switch?

1. Feb 12, 2017 #1
    I'm a sophomore math and physics double major, and I'm losing interest in physics. I still love math (like seriously love), but I honestly don't see myself working in a physics lab or anything. A lot of the modern physics stuff really does not appeal to me at all.

I currently plan on switching fields after undergrad and getting my masters in computer science (I've been python programming for a few years). I see myself continuing to a PhD program afterwards, but that's way too far in the future for me to be certain.

I need 5 more classes to satisfy my physics major (quantum I and II, electromagnetic theory, math methods in physics, and another lab). The question is, should I just stop taking the physics courses and start picking up on the cs material, or should I finish the major and squeeze in whatever cs courses I can?

My primary fear is that my waning interest in physics will drop my gpa. For instance, I got an A+ in my upper level electrodynamics class by a huge margin. I now have statistical mechanics with the same professor and I hit the average dead on for the first midterm, i.e. I'll likely end up with a B if this continues. Worst case scenario, my physics gpa drops from 3.922 to 3.663 after this semester (I definitely won't get worse than a B in my physics classes).

I'm leaning towards finishing the physics major. I'd appreciate any comments/opinions anyone has!

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 12, 2017 #2
    Two initial comments: