Tech of the 60s: Computer Systems for Ground Control & More

• Thread starter LT72884
  • Start date
In summary, in the 1960s, the computer systems used for ground control of capsules and rockets were mainly large mainframe computers such as the IBM 360 and Control Data computers. These were used for monitoring and trajectory corrections, while onboard control was done through inertial guidance systems and control laws. The network used during this time was the Telephone network, with limited access for communication between a few universities. Data from the spacecraft was received by large radio antennas and transmitted to Mission Control. Medical monitoring was done through analog devices and displayed on long persistence CRTs. Data storage and restricted bandwidth were major limitations during this era.
LT72884
I am an aerospace engineering student. I have been watching the show "The RIght Stuff" and i have a question

what kind of computer systems existed in 1960 that allowed ground control to control the capsule and atlas rocket?

how were they able to monitor flight path, heart rythms of the astronauts, and all that stuff? what kind of network existed then?

thanks. Just really want to know

Engineering news on Phys.org
The computers were large mainframes. I think the IBM 360 was operational in 1969. Control Data had computers. I heard about the NORC. you can look all these up. The control was needed to be done onboard, with inertial guidance systems, and control laws implemented. The software was probably loaded into the electronics. I know there are articles about the Apollo guidance computer on the internet. The Mercury program was a few years more primitive.