Testing out of calc based physics

In summary, the speaker is a student considering skipping an introductory physics course by teaching themselves the material and testing out. They have a basic understanding of calculus but are unsure if this is a good idea. They are seeking examples of the math to determine if they have the knowledge to do so. They also mention that there may be a lab component that could prevent them from testing out.
Kelth
Dear all:
I am a student at the University of Hartford and next semester I must take an Introductory physics course with basis on Calculus. Now I was pondering simply takeing a month or two and teaching it to myself and then testing out of the class so I can move onto more advanced materials quicker. I have taken a calculus course and I have the more basic fundalmentals down. What do people think? too risky? or think it might be beneficial to take the class anyways? I am trying to locate examples of the math myself so i can determine if i have the knowledge to do what I want to do.

Thanks for your help!

Physics news on Phys.org
you might consider, if there's a lab component to the course, then they might not let you test out of it.

I would advise caution in attempting to test out of a calculus-based physics course. While it is admirable that you have a strong foundation in calculus and are motivated to learn more advanced material, it is important to recognize the complexities and nuances of physics that may not be covered in a self-study approach. Physics is a discipline that requires a deep understanding of mathematical concepts and their application to real-world situations. It is not simply a matter of memorizing formulas and equations, but rather understanding the underlying principles and how they relate to each other.

I would recommend considering the following factors before making a decision: