The difference between rear and front brakes of a bicycle

In summary, the conversation discusses the effectiveness of front and rear brakes on a bicycle and how it relates to weight transfer and Newton's laws of motion. The person is seeking a scientific explanation for this phenomenon and is open to detailed explanations, but asks for them to be broken down due to being new to physics.
Kimusubi
Hi,

I'm a sophomore student at Arizona State University studying Aerospace. I'm currently taking my first physics class ever and I'm loving it. Although there isn't enough calculus, it's mostly formula based, so it's a bit disappointing on that end. Anyways, ever since I started taking the physics class, I've become curious on how certain things in the world work. I mountain bike a lot, so recently I started thinking of how the front and rear brakes differ from one another. By that I mean, why does it take longer for the bike to stop when using the rear brakes versus using the front brakes when you are moving forward, and vise-versa when you are moving backwards. And also why is there a tendency to fly forward when using the front brakes. I asked this of my professor, and he wasn't able to give me an explanation on it, and told me that he would get back to me. I mean, I understand why it happens (in the most common-sense non-physical way), but I was wondering if anyone could explain this to me in more of a scientific way. Does it have anything to do with Newton's laws, or is it because of center of mass, or some other reason? If anyone can give me a detailed explanation of this, I would really appreciate it. But just keep in mind that this is my first physics class ever, so if you're trying to explain something a bit more advanced, please break it down for me. Thank you all in advance for your contribution.

- Ali

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF, Ali.