Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

The relation with time and light

1. Feb 26, 2010 #1
    hey everyone, Im a 16 year old student still in high school, i was just wondering if anyone can help me with this question. - what is the relation between time and light?

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 26, 2010 #2

Dale

Staff: Mentor

4. Feb 26, 2010 #3
    The famous clock on a train thought experiment is another example of light being a great time keeper. if you have two mirrors parallel to each other on a train moving at constant speed with a light beam between them, its a perfect clock because the speed of light is constant which is cool. So it can be a a time keeper.

also, if you ARE light, then it takes you no time at all to get from place to place which is sweet also. I mean takes time here in the classical sense because it doesn't take "time" for anything to take place, that's like saying "whats happening in the Andromeda galaxy right NOW? not a very good question cause there isnt background "TIME" like we thought before Einstein... time is related to light by the way we experience things!

5. Feb 26, 2010 #4

Fredrik

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

jfy4, I don't agree with your second claim. I'll explain why by quoting myself...
    Your first point is good though, and it can be expanded to cover the synchronization procedure mentioned in the post I linked to above. I'd say that that defines the most important connection between light and time.

6. Feb 26, 2010 #5
    Well put, and enlightening! The main point of my second paragraph was to show the elimination of the background time and to illuminate that the relationship Things and light have is through experience, not through time, which is a classical idea. Thank you for that tid-bit, it makes a lot of sense! Ill reconsider ever using that phrase again.

7. Feb 26, 2010 #6