Thoughts about Keith R Symon's textbook

In summary, a student is seeking recommendations for a more challenging textbook on classical mechanics after enjoying working through John R Taylor's "Classical Mechanics". Two textbooks, "Symon's" and "Goldstein's", are suggested by other users, with the student expressing interest in working through both. The discussion also includes a recommendation for "Marion and Thornton" as a solid foundation for further studies in solid mechanics and quantum mechanics.
Bleakfacade
Hello there, I am an undergraduate student in my final year. I have been using classical mechanics by John R Taylor, which I should say I have absolutely enjoyed working through so far. I now feel I am prepared for a slightly more challenging set of problems and mathematical rigour. My professor suggested to me this textbook, https://www.amazon.com/dp/0201073927/?tag=pfamazon01-20.
Having never used nor heard of this book(no offence intended to enthusiasts, if any at all :smile:), I would greatle appreciate your thoughts about this book. I thank you all in advance.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Shyan said:

I have worked through M&T in a lot of detail. I am only left with the problems from continuous systems and special relativity. The aim is to work through Goldstein's as soon as possible. I felt I needed an abridgement before I begin Goldstein's. Do you reckon M&T would be enough? Can I start Goldstein's if I have worked through M&T and Taylor's?

Bleakfacade said:
I have worked through M&T in a lot of detail. I am only left with the problems from continuous systems and special relativity. The aim is to work through Goldstein's as soon as possible. I felt I needed an abridgement before I begin Goldstein's. Do you reckon M&T would be enough? Can I start Goldstein's if I have worked through M&T and Taylor's?