1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Trying to understand epsilon-delta defn of limit

1. Oct 17, 2009 #1
    I made this question up myself, so I'm not even entirely sure if it makes sense, but I'm pretty sure that it does.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Consider the function
    [tex]
    \begin{equation*}
    f(x) = \left\{
    \begin{array}{cc}
    1 & : x = \dfrac{1}{n}, n \in \mathbb{N}\\
    0 & : x \not = \dfrac{1}{n}, n \in \mathbb{N}
    \end{array}
    \end{equation*}
    [/tex]

Prove that
    [tex]
    \begin{equation*}
    \lim_{x \to \frac{1}{n}} f(x) = 0
    \end{equation*}
    [/tex]

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

I'm really new to all this epsilon delta stuff, so I'm not sure how I would get started on a question like this.

Given [tex]\epsilon>0[/tex] we want to show that there exists [tex]\delta > 0[/tex] such that

[tex]
    0<|x-\dfrac{1}{n}|<\delta\\
    \implies |f(x)-0| < \epsilon
    [/tex]

Like I said, I made this question up myself so I could try to understand this. I don't know how to get started though. Any hints?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 17, 2009 #2
    As x-->(1/n), f(x) = 0, which means your inequality holds for any epsilon. And regardless of if the value of delta(even 0) the limit exist.

When we talk about limits we are talking about the neighborhood around your point. Your function is zero everywhere except for a bunch of rational numbers between 0 and 1.

I don't like the question because I believe it accomplishes the exact opposite of what you want.

Try using a simpler example then work your way up.

The attached pdf below might be useful to you.

Attached Files:

4. Oct 17, 2009 #3