Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

B Uncertainty Principle -- Fundamental limit, or a limitation of our measurement capabilities?

1. Jan 14, 2019 #1
    I'm a hobbyist physicist and I just started studying QM through watching Leonard Susskind's lectures on the Stanford Youtube channel. I get the idea of it being impossible to precisely know both a subatomic particle's position and momentum, but is this actually a physical limitation? Or is it just a limitation by how we know how to measure subatomic particles today?

I don't have any idea how, but I feel like there will be a day when we understand matter on a small scale well enough that we can abandon this whole probabilistic model. Thanks for reading.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 14, 2019 #2

Orodruin

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2018 Award

It is a physical limitation in quantum mechanics. It has absolutely nothing to do with the accuracy of your instruments.

Your feeling is common, but there are experiments that have ruled out hidden variables.

4. Jan 14, 2019 #3

haushofer

Science Advisor

Local (!) hidden variables.

5. Jan 14, 2019 #4

Orodruin

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2018 Award

Valid point.

6. Jan 14, 2019 #5
    Well Its not a physical limitation rather its only a limitation of how we measure and see things using the most precise instruments we have.

So lets take an example where we want to know an electrons position. But we cannot directly see an electron, the only thing you can do is shine a light o an electron and it reflects it back to us so we see it through the interaction of photon with the electron.

Now you might be think how ?
    Let me give you an elaboration of the above experiment.