Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Understanding statically indeterminate beams

1. Mar 1, 2012 #1
    As a physics student, I never came across the following problem:

A uniform beam of mass M and length L rests on three identical supports: one at each end of the beam and one in the middle. What are the forces of reaction on each of the supports?

I now realise that that was the case because this system is statically intederminate in the sense that we have too few equations of equlibrium to solve for the three unknowns. But, surely the problem must have a unique solution. So, how would one solve this (in principle, very simple) problem?

1) One option is symmetry - since the supports are placed symmetrically, each would carry equal weight. That means that the reaction force is Mg/3 for each support.

2) Or, one can divide the beam into two equal parts by (imaginary) cutting it in the middle. Then the problem is solvable and gives Mg/2 for the middle support and Mg/4 for the each of the outer supports.

3) I'm guessing that the correct answer is something else, so please, enlighten me :)

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 1, 2012 #2

OldEngr63

Gold Member

The clue is in the name of the problem class - statically indeterminate - which means that the equations of statics are insufficient for the solution. You must look to other information for a solution, in particular, you must look to information about the beam deformation. Presumably this is a flexible beam, not a rigid beam, so it deforms under gravity. That deformation must be taken into account in order to get a solution.