Calculating Horizontal Reaction Forces in L-Beam

In summary, the beam is pinned at each end and the horizontal reaction force varies between 430 N and 438 N depending on the beam geometry.
JHensley
Hi everyone, I'm new here so I hope I'm posting this in the right place.

I'm struggling to duplicate the horizontal reaction forces being generated in an L shaped beam. Typically I like to do hand calculations and verify my answer using Solidworks, but in this case I can't seem to wrap my head around the results from Solidworks.

The beam is essentially pinned, or hinged, at each end with a moment applied at one end (see attached images). I realize this is considered an indeterminate situation and this is the root of my problem. I have some experience using Castigliano's theorem, but again that's for simple beams, or possibly superposition could be used in some way? I thought I was fairly well versed in statics and beam theory, but throughout my undergrad I had actually never encountered anything outside of the simple beam shape.

Any help, recommendation, references is much appreciated, thanks!

Attachments

• L-Beam Axial Force.jpg
    L-Beam Axial Force.jpg
    23.1 KB · Views: 596
  • L-Beam FBD.jpg
    L-Beam FBD.jpg
    3.1 KB · Views: 620
  • L-Beam Dims.jpg
    L-Beam Dims.jpg
    13.6 KB · Views: 713
Engineering news on Phys.org
It's not clear from the figures exactly how you implemented your restraints and loads. I suggest making a new model where the beam is modeled as a solid, and the pinned connections as holes with elastic foundation restraints. You will need a high normal stiffness to correctly model your problem. Some iteration will be necessary. Then show us the deformed geometry plot.

Thanks for the response jrmichler,

I drew a new free body diagram to show better how the beam is restrained and attached a deformation plot for reference.