VB app to calculate velocity of a golf club head

In summary, you need to find the velocity of the ball just after the club hits it, then figure out how the ball will travel. For the first part the equations you need are conservation of momentum and conservation of energy. You also need to find the angle at which the club face hits the ball.
jeffsweeps
Hi guys, i have read and read and read all this stuff about x=vt(cosA), y = vt(sinA)-1/2gt^2

now i am not a pyhsics guy and never claimed to be, i am a programmer. This is what i am trying to accomplish. I am trying to write a small VB app to calculate velocity of a golf club head. I and trying to evaulate it as follows:

CLub Head Angle is Diiferent for each club. but we are going to just pick 1, so let's say a driver with a 10.5 face

I have the following the only variable i wish to calculate is velocity.

I want to be able to type in a yardage (x) and an elevation (y) a club angle(10.5) and get the velocity.
am i on the right track here?
i got the formula from the hyperphsyics page.
My plan is since can get the max velocity of the driver by assuming the max distance for x at y=0 is 250 ... i could then use that velocity and set it equal to 100% (for 255 yds) and then calculate the velocity for 204 yds whish is (80% of club distance) and see what that velocity is.