Vector line integral notation.

• Thread starter Craptola
  • Start date
Hey, I'm studying for a physics degree and have a general curiosity about vector calculus. Having learned about surface and line integrals for scalar functions in multivariable calculus I've been having some issues translating them into vector calculus. Though conceptually I haven't had much trouble yet I find myself struggling to interpret some notation.

My main concern concerns have been with [itex]\vec{dl}[/itex] (I've sometimes seen it written [itex]\vec{dr}[/itex]) and [itex]\vec{ds}[/itex]. I've encountered [itex]dl[/itex] as a scalar when doing line integrals but not as a vector. After much searching I was able to discover that the vector [itex]\vec{ds}[/itex] is equal to [itex]ds\mathbf{\hat{n}}[/itex] where n is the unit vector normal to the surface. But I've still not been able to find such a definition for [itex]\vec{dl}[/itex]. I would appreciate if anyone could shed some light on what this actually is.

Answers and Replies

vela
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Education Advisor
Hmm, can you give an example of a line integral where you didn't have something like ##d\vec{l}## or ##d\vec{r}##?

There's nothing too mysterious going on here: ##d\vec{r} = dx\,\hat{i} + dy\,\hat{j} + dz\,\hat{k}##. If you have a vector field ##\vec{F} = F_x\,\hat{i} + F_y\,\hat{j} + F_z\,\hat{k}##, then you get ##\vec{F}\cdot d\vec{r} = F_x\,dx + F_y\,dy + F_z\,dz##

LCKurtz
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Insights Author
Gold Member
Hey, I'm studying for a physics degree and have a general curiosity about vector calculus. Having learned about surface and line integrals for scalar functions in multivariable calculus I've been having some issues translating them into vector calculus. Though conceptually I haven't had much trouble yet I find myself struggling to interpret some notation.