Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Water to air heat exchange - imperial units doing my head in

1. Jul 28, 2014 #1
    Hey guys, newbie here and first post. I've got a (hopefully) simple question, but for some reason my brain just isn't working. I'm too used to working with metric, and even though it should be fairly simple, working with imperial units just hurts.

Anyway, here's the problem: I have a specific volume of air that I need to move, and at the same time I need to heat the air to a specific temperature. I'm using a water to air heat exchanger to heat the air, and found what I think is a suitable product.

The heat exchanger product page lists:
    size (in inches)
    BTU (is this BTU or BTU/h?)
    volumetric flow rate of air (CFM)
    pressure drop of air (this really confuses me - is it 81% drop of original pressure? ie: the pressure is now 19% of original??)
    pressure drop of water (ditto as above)
    volumetric flow rate of water (GPM)

I have T1 and T2 of the air that I wish to heat, and I know the velocity that I want the air to be after the heat exchange (I picked the heat exchanger based on the volumetric flow rate - assuming it remains constant through the heat exchange?). I also have the energy required to heat the air from 20 deg C to 32 deg C (the final temp).

How do I figure out the energy in to the water? Sorry if this is a stupid question, but it seems like US methods are completely different to what I learned in University

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 28, 2014 #2

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Can you post this HE product page or give a reference?

4. Jul 28, 2014 #3
    Yes, here's the product page: http://www.northlanddistrib.com/Water-To-Air-Heat-Exchangers_c_423.html