Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What could have caused an EMI Filter Bead shorted by itself?

1. Mar 17, 2016 #1
    Hi, I am a Reliability Engineer. Currently, I am facing difficulties in finding the root cause to a defective EMI filter bead. Resistance measurements across the four leads (vertically, horizontally, diagonally) show that they are all shorted. However, a good ferrite bead should only be shorted horizontally as tested. From the x-ray picture, I couldn't find any abnormality. It looks perfect with two wires running in parallel. I am hoping to find some explanation in the world of Physics? Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 17, 2016 #2

sophiecentaur

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

HI
    How does it perform at the RF frequencies it's specified for? Do you know it is faulty?
    Was the device subjected to high volts or current before it exhibited this behaviour? Could you just have fried it?

4. Mar 17, 2016 #3

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to the PF. :smile:

Can you provide the part number and a link to the datasheet? Can you upload a picture?

5. Mar 17, 2016 #4

CWatters

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Do you have a new one to compare your faulty one with?

6. Mar 17, 2016 #5

wirenut

Gold Member

Was the unit installed on a board?
    Did it initially pass QC? or was found failed during QC?
    Did it fail after a time?
    Was it removed for testing/ x-raying?
    Can you upload the x-ray?

7. Mar 17, 2016 #6
    Failed_FB1.jpg Failed_FB1.jpg Failed_FB2.jpg Good_FB sample.jpg The datasheet can be found here. Part number is CM3312R111R-10 from Laird Technology.

8. Mar 17, 2016 #7

berkeman

Well that's super helpful, Ken. Except for the part where you explain what those pictures represent... :wink:

9. Mar 17, 2016 #8

wirenut

Gold Member

Could you explain what each x-ray is?

10. Mar 17, 2016 #9

wirenut

Gold Member