What does object space and image space mean in optics?

• B
  • Thread starter Dhanush Shivaramaiah
  • Start date
Dhanush Shivaramaiah

Main Question or Discussion Point

Answers and Replies

davenn
Science Advisor
Gold Member
2019 Award

hi there
welcome to PF

You have labelled your thread with an "A" tag implying that you have a post graduate level of education
So what research have you done so far on the topic ?
what have you been reading and what didn't you understand ?

Dave

Dhanush Shivaramaiah
I'm really sorry, sir. I did not know what the tags meant as I'm new. I just registered today. I'm a 12th grade student.

Likes davenn
davenn
Science Advisor
Gold Member
2019 Award
I'm really sorry, sir. I did not know what the tags meant as I'm new. I just registered today. I'm a 12th grade student.
all good, no problems :smile:

So have you tried putting your question into google ?
what did you discover ?

there are lots of links and references there for you to have a read through
and then come back with questions on anything specific you didnt understand :smile:

Dave

Likes Dhanush Shivaramaiah
Dhanush Shivaramaiah
Sure, sir. I googled these problems and read extensively. From what I understand optical space is a co-ordinate system like a Cartesian coordinate system. Object space is the space where the rays emerge and image space is the space is space where rays fall or appear to fall.
This is what I understood so far. Please correct me if I'm wrong. I'd be very happy if anyone can provide further information or correct me if I'm wrong.

Object space is the space where the rays emerge and image space is the space is space where rays fall or appear to fall.
This is what I understood so far. Please correct me if I'm wrong. I'd be very happy if anyone can provide further information or correct me if I'm wrong.