What is the balance point between 2 gravitational bodies called?

In summary, the conversation revolves around a game idea involving jumping between the floor and ceiling and the player being affected by both gravitational forces simultaneously. The person is curious about the name for the point where the two forces are in balance, also known as the point of equilibrium. They suggest "Lagrange point" or "Lagrangian point," but others point out that this may not be entirely accurate and "equilibrium" may be a more suitable term.
fosterboy123
Hi there!

My physics is not exactly strong (I am a games developer/designer).

Basically I have a game idea where the player will jump between the floor and the ceiling. At any point the player will jump and be affected by the gravitational point of the ceiling and the floor at the same time based on their position on the Y axis.

I understand the mathematics, but I am curious to if there is a name for the point at which the two gravitational forces are in balance (assuming both gravitational forces are identical in strength). I.e. is there a name for the point where the player would just float, not moving toward the ceiling nor the floor?

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Maybe point of equilibrium?

But I think it would be difficult, at least in real life, to sit directly at the point of zero net gravitational force. A fraction of an inch too far in either direction will pull you away.

Unless the room is spherical, then everywhere would have net zero gravitational force.

Yeah, I think Equilibrium sounds right!

I actually wanted to know simply for the name and I had no idea what it was called.

Thank you very much!

"Lagrange point" or " Lagrangian point" is the term you're looking for...

94JZA80 said:
"Lagrange point" or " Lagrangian point" is the term you're looking for...