1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What is the physical difference between compression waves and longitud

1. Dec 12, 2013 #1
    Hello, this is my first post on this forum so nice to be here, and I'll be very appreciative of any responses. My background is in acoustics, and hence my question is relevant to vibration propagation.

The terms 'compression' and 'longitudinal' are both frequently used to describe the same type of wave; namely one in which the direction of particle velocity is parallel to that of the group velocity.

However, in some texts I have seen a distinction drawn between the two, and two different formulae used to calculate the wave phase speed.

I will reproduce the two definitions in terms of the classical elastic constants sometimes known as the Lamé parameters ##\lambda## and ##\mu##. I define these constants using Poisson's ratio ##\nu##, and the elastic (Young's, wrongly attributed) modulus, ##E##.

$$\lambda = \frac{\nu E}{(1 + \nu)(1 - 2\nu)}$$

$$\mu = \frac{E}{2(1 + \nu)}$$

For COMPRESSION (dilatational) waves, Ewing & Jardetsky, 1957 (Elastic Waves in Layered Media, available free at https://archive.org/details/elasticwavesinla032682mbp - see Chapter 1, pages 8 and 9 in particular) give the formula for the phase speed ##c_P## in terms of ##\lambda##, ##\mu## and the material mass density ##\rho## as

$$c_P = \sqrt{\frac{\lambda + 2\mu}{\rho}}$$

For LONGITUDINAL waves, Cremer, Heckl and Petersson, 2005 (Structure-borne Sound, see this page and this page, noting that, in this volume, Poisson's ratio is denoted as ##\mu##) give the formula for the phase speed ##c_L## as

$$c_L = \sqrt{\frac{E(1 - \nu)}{(1 + \nu)(1 - 2\nu)\rho}}$$

which is, in terms of ##\lambda##

$$c_L = \sqrt{\frac{\lambda(1 - \nu)}{\nu\rho}}$$