Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Which is more important: Partial DiffE or Complex Variables

1. Dec 25, 2005 #1
    I am majoring in EE and have the option of taking either of these classes. I have to take Calc 1-3, Ordinary DiffE, and Linear Algebra. So after these classes is PDE or Complex Variables more useful to electrical engineers?
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 25, 2005 #2

Staff: Mentor

I'd say complex analysis, but I'm not sure what-all is covered in the PDE class. Can you post the syllabus of each?
  4. Dec 26, 2005 #3
    Sure. Here they are:
    Complex Variables:
    Analytic functions, power series, residues and poles, conformal mapping, and applications.

Partial Differential Equations:
    Classification of second order equations, characteristics, general theory of first order equations, Dirichlet problem for Laplace's equeation and Green's functions, eigenvalue problems, and variational methods.
  5. Dec 26, 2005 #4
    Both of these classes have one different prerequisite. So whichever class I would take I would have to take the prereq for that class too. The pre req for Complex Variables is Calculus of Several Variables, and the pre req for PDE is Intermediate Differential Equations (ODE 2?). Here are the discriptions of those classes:

Calculus of Several Variables:
    Differential and integral calculus of functions of several variables, vector anylasis, Stokes' Theorem, Green's Theorem and applications.

Intermediate Differential Equations:
    Systems of differential equations, series, solutions, special functions, elementary partrial differential equations, Sturm-Liouville problems, stability and applications.
  6. Dec 26, 2005 #5

Staff: Mentor