Why does an electron create a magnetic field when it moves?

In summary, the force exerted by a charged particle on another depends on their positions and velocities, with the electric and magnetic fields being components of a unified electromagnetic field. This understanding is based on the historical development of the subject, with special relativity playing a key role in explaining the relationship between electric and magnetic fields.
Ruben sellman
i am just a student who wishes to learn more about physics and the way the universe works, but because i am 14 and am just starting to learn all of this on my own i have to start from scratch, please present me with any usable information

Physics news on Phys.org
An electric field that changes in time generates magnetic fields. Physics cannot answer "why" question on a fundamental level. This is just an observation.

Likes xareu
In general, the force that a charged particle A exerts on another charged particle B depends on the positions and velocities (i.e. speed and direction) of both A and B. Because of the way the subject developed historically, we say that the part of the force that depends only on the positions of A and B is due to an "electric field" produced by A, that acts on B; and the part of the force that depends on the velocities of A and B is due to a "magnetic field" produced by A, that acts on B. Nowadays we consider these two fields to be merely components of a single unified tensor field, the "electromagnetic field."

Likes cnh1995 and axmls
jtbell said:
Because of the way the subject developed historically, we say that the part of the force that depends only on the positions of A and B is due to an "electric field" produced by A, that acts on B; and the part of the force that depends on the velocities of A and B is due to a "magnetic field" produced by A, that acts on B.

Thanks, JT, I never thought of it that way.

Ruben sellman said: