Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Why does an electron create a magnetic field when it moves?

1. Feb 14, 2016 #1
    i am just a student who wishes to learn more about physics and the way the universe works, but because i am 14 and am just starting to learn all of this on my own i have to start from scratch, please present me with any usable information

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 14, 2016 #2

mfb

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor

An electric field that changes in time generates magnetic fields. Physics cannot answer "why" question on a fundamental level. This is just an observation.

4. Feb 14, 2016 #3

jtbell

In general, the force that a charged particle A exerts on another charged particle B depends on the positions and velocities (i.e. speed and direction) of both A and B. Because of the way the subject developed historically, we say that the part of the force that depends only on the positions of A and B is due to an "electric field" produced by A, that acts on B; and the part of the force that depends on the velocities of A and B is due to a "magnetic field" produced by A, that acts on B. Nowadays we consider these two fields to be merely components of a single unified tensor field, the "electromagnetic field."

5. Feb 14, 2016 #4

Drakkith

Thanks, JT, I never thought of it that way.

Unfortunately the question you ask isn't easy to answer without getting into some complicated and confusing concepts. For the time being it may be better just to accept that it happens and wait until you learn more about physics before asking again. (Seriously. I don't even understand it fully. :oops:)

6. Feb 15, 2016 #5
    There is a deep reason that I don't fully understand having to do with special relativity. I'll give it a shot.