Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Wireless Transmission of Power

1. Aug 3, 2009 #1
    Dear Physics Forums Users,

I have a Bachelor of Science degree on Physics and Applied Mathematics, currently on the way out of a masters in EE. As a graduation project, I chose wireless power transmission as the project topic.

I found two wireless transmission schemes that got some recent traction which claim to overcome some or all of the range related problems (enabling more than charging toothbrushes):

1. WiTricity by Dr. Marin Soljacic (MIT)
    2. Vortex Wireless Power Transmission by Dr. Konstantin Meyl (University of Applied Sciences at Furtwangen, Germany).

I am trying to theoretically compare systems, build and test their efficacy.

Soljacic system uses what is termed as evanescent fields, these fields much like quantum tunneling field effect penetrate physical space and die out in a somewhat exponential fashion. My question is about Meyl System, I am unable to locate any serious treatment of scalar waves in a textbook or an academic paper other than Meyl's badly translated book Scalar Transponder .

If you know of any credible references on Scalar Waves (refuting or supporting, it does not matter as long as they are robust), please let me know.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 4, 2009 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

I did a Google search for "wireless power" here at the PF, to pull up all the threads that have discussed this. Please look through these threads to see if they help.

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&...=&as_occt=any&cr=&as_nlo=&as_nhi=&safe=images

Note that only mainstream science is discussed here in the technical forums at the PF. I'm not sure your quote qualifies as mainstream science:

4. Aug 5, 2009 #3

es1