Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Xcode "Thread 1: EXC_BAD_ACCESS" error

1. Oct 21, 2015 #1
    Screen Shot 2015-10-21 at 7.22.46 PM.png

So, I was making this simple image processing programming for the bitmap image. Like the image I upload here, that Thread 1: EXC_BAD_ACCESS occurred although the program can perfectly running when I run it on Mac Terminal and on Windows. What seems to be the problem? Since my English is not my first language and especially I am not good in computer-related english language, I hope someone can explain to me easily. Plus, I am still a beginner in programming although I am already deeply falling in love with it.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 21, 2015 #2

jedishrfu

Staff: Mentor

try increasing the size of the header array. It may be that the header info you're reading is larger than the array allows.

4. Oct 21, 2015 #3
    Nope. Still same error displaying.

5. Oct 21, 2015 #4
    Read up on how to use breakpoints and some of the debugging tools, your code is correct, but I see your problem in the very bottom left of the image you posted. Whenever XCode notices that you did something wrong, it automatically pauses your code and lets you investigate, this is called the debugger. The variable viewer is very important to figure out how to use, it's on the lower left of your screenshot, it lets you see what your variables are.

I see that fp is NULL. That means that your file was not able to be opened. Add this code.

Code (Text):
    fp = fopen(input_file, "rb");
    if (fb == NULL){
        printf("%s was not able to be opened", input_file);
        exit(1);
    }