Xcode "Thread 1: EXC_BAD_ACCESS" error

• Thread starter hilman
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Error
In summary, XCode is not able to locate the file that you are trying to compile into. You need to tell the Xcode where the file is located.
hilman
Screen Shot 2015-10-21 at 7.22.46 PM.png

So, I was making this simple image processing programming for the bitmap image. Like the image I upload here, that Thread 1: EXC_BAD_ACCESS occurred although the program can perfectly running when I run it on Mac Terminal and on Windows. What seems to be the problem? Since my English is not my first language and especially I am not good in computer-related english language, I hope someone can explain to me easily. Plus, I am still a beginner in programming although I am already deeply falling in love with it.

Technology news on Phys.org
try increasing the size of the header array. It may be that the header info you're reading is larger than the array allows.

jedishrfu said:
try increasing the size of the header array. It may be that the header info you're reading is larger than the array allows.
Nope. Still same error displaying.

Read up on how to use breakpoints and some of the debugging tools, your code is correct, but I see your problem in the very bottom left of the image you posted. Whenever XCode notices that you did something wrong, it automatically pauses your code and let's you investigate, this is called the debugger. The variable viewer is very important to figure out how to use, it's on the lower left of your screenshot, it let's you see what your variables are.

I see that fp is NULL. That means that your file was not able to be opened. Add this code.

Code:
fp = fopen(input_file, "rb");
if (fb == NULL){
    printf("%s was not able to be opened", input_file);
    exit(1);
}