Efficiency vs Height: Understanding the Relationship

In summary: Try drawing a linear trendline, I don't think efficiency would increase that much in such a small interval.
Trooper100

Homework Statement

Hey guys! I am doing a very simple lab, and in need of your expertise!

Haha, I am an intro-physics student, please don't get too complicated with me, my knowledge is very limited.

The QUESTION is: WHAT IS THE RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN EFFICIENCY VS HEIGHT (graphically)...err...our graph is a curve-like line, is that correct? Similar to x^2 graphs...I think.

Thank you to all.

Homework Equations

Let subscript g = gravitational potential energy, k = kinetic energy

Efficiency = Edesired/Etotal or Eoutput/Einput

Eg = mass X gravity X height
Ek = mass X velocity^2

Physics news on Phys.org
What is your desired energy output? Gravitational pe?

rock.freak667 said:
What is your desired energy output? Gravitational pe?

Our desired energy output is only Ek.

Our desired energy input is only Eg.

We are trying to find the efficiency vs height relationship.

In our experiment, as we increased the vertical height, but remain a fixed distance, our cart traveled down the slope faster. This makes sense because as you raise height, you also raise angle making the slope steeper, thereby traveling faster.

Our efficiency in percentage also increased, by it did not increase by a steady interval. As we increased the vertical height, efficiency increased but less than the rates before it. It started to increase less and less.

PLEASE help if you can. thank you thank you.

Trooper100 said:
We are trying to find the efficiency vs height relationship.

In our experiment, as we increased the vertical height, but remain a fixed distance, our cart traveled down the slope faster. This makes sense because as you raise height, you also raise angle making the slope steeper, thereby traveling faster.