Is x not in A or B AND not in C?

In summary, the conversation is discussing set theory and the statement x\notin\left(\left(\left(A\cup B\right)\setminus\left(A\cap B\right)\right)\cap C\right). The person is trying to understand the meaning and how to proceed with the statement, as well as pointing out potential mistakes. They also mention that they don't want others to do their homework for them, but rather understand the concept. The summary concludes by mentioning that the conversation also touches on the equivalence of two statements and the use of negation in conjunction and disjunction, as well as other steps in reasoning.
kernelpenguin
I'm trying to prove something small with set theory and since I'm new to it, I've run into a problem. I can't understand what the following means exactly and how to proceed further. Or where the mistake is, if there is one. I think there is, because it seems... freaky.

[tex]x\notin\left(\left(\left(A\cup B\right)\setminus\left(A\cap B\right)\right)\cap C\right)[/tex]
[tex]x\notin\left(\left(A\cup B\right)\setminus\left(A\cap B\right)\right)\wedge x\notin C[/tex]
[tex]\left(x\notin\left(A\cup B\right)\wedge x\in\left(A\cap B\right)\right)\wedge x\notin C[/tex]
[tex]\left(\left(\left(x\notin A\right)\vee\left(x\notin B\right)\right)\wedge\left(\left(x\in A\right)\wedge\left(x\in B\right)\right)\right)\wedge x\notin C[/tex]

I'd post the entire thing of which this is a small part of, but that's my homework and I don't want to get into the habit of having other people do my homework for me. Plus I want to learn how and why it works, not just do it.

Physics news on Phys.org
consider this

x is not an element of UnV
x is not an element of U AND x is not an element of V

you've said those two statements are equivalent (I think, since you've not actually said what your deductions are from line to line). find a counter example to show this is false.

negation switches conjunction and disjunction, or union and intersection.